Total Racing Europe

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

2 posters

Introduction To Tuning

Mr Antt
    Mr Antt
    Admin

Introduction To Tuning Empty Introduction To Tuning

Post by Mr Antt Sun 24 Jun 2012, 8:09 am

So, here's a nicely written guide to tuning created by a rather knowledgeable guy whom I've had the pleasure of working with for a while now.
    I've quoted it here, and have posted with permission. I hope it's as useful to you as it has been to me. It's a great little guide and I keep it on hand whenever I go into the tuning menu. I'm no expert, but I've noticed a massive improvement in my tunes since reading this. It makes much more sense than just sliding things around hoping for the best Cool

Here’s a short introduction, This is the way I do my tunes:

First of all think about the track the car will be made for (short, mid or long track)
    That has a big influence on the needed parts:

• Short - Needs parts that mainly increase the torque and decrease weight
    • Medium - (Most of the tracks) needs parts that increase torque and top speed and possibly decrease weight.
    • Long - (Le Mans, Nordschleife, Sedona, and Sunset Peninsula) needs parts to reach a high top speed.

Good parts to increase torque are:
    A turbo, exhaust, air filter, cam shaft (eats a lot of PI points), spark plugs and engine size.

Good parts to increase top speed are:
    Engine size, exhaust, air filter, valves, pistons and the fuel pump

NEVER use the cooler parts for the turbo (only the race version if needed and PI points need to be used) and the “liquid parts” in my German game version called Oil and Water. Those parts are useless, they just increase the weight rather than giving increased performance

Always start with the handling parts (I build the car in this order):